07 Sep, 2021

Personal Assistant for child/weekends/school hols/6 hours pw/10 hours pw in hols/LS16

£9.43 hourly
  • Leeds Centre For Integrated Living
Part time & Casual, Voluntary Care Charity, Not for Profit and Social Enterprise

Job Description/Duties

We are looking for someone with experience of supporting special needs children, to support our son who has learning disabilities and autism.

Are you able to commit to 6 hours per week plus an extra 4 hours in the holidays?

Meet Seth:

I am a sociable, happy and affectionate 10-year-old boy who is always smiling! I love trying new things and going out and I enjoy music (especially dancing and jumping around with my friends and family), trampolines, sensory play, swings and rolling toy cars with a friend. I require 2:1 support as I can be quite wobbly on my feet, I need you to hold my hand when we are out and about, to help me with my balance and to stop me from running into roads. I am at an early stage of communication, I can communicate using gestures and can also use objects of reference to communicate my needs.

You will:

·        Dance, laugh and spend time with Seth – he is a lively and happy boy, and we would love someone who matches his personality!

·        Support Seth accessing the activities he enjoys such as going out to parks, cafes, museums. He also loves going to supermarkets! Take him to and from activities in the school holidays.

·        Support Seth with eating and other intimate care duties – experience with feeding children is preferred. 

Extra Information:

Our son has a diagnosis of Epilepsy, his seizures are infrequent and usually occur when he is asleep or poorly. He does not require any rescue medication.

We’d like to start with some visits to the home to build up a relationship with the right person. He has some balance and co-ordination issues which requires him to have 2:1 support when walking to prevent him from tripping and to support him around roads as he has no sense of danger or road safety. We also have a MacLaren Major Buggy in case Seth were to become tired during your outings! Seth may also put too much food into his mouth due to his co-ordination difficulties so feeding experience is desired. 

We are looking for someone long term with experience who has a passion for supporting young people with multiple and complex needs. 

Hours will be weekends and school holidays mainly, with the occasional evening but we are happy to be flexible.

Rate of pay:

£9.43 per hour.

Location:

The family live in LS16.

If you are interested in supporting Seth, please apply via UKCIL.

CAR DRIVER DESIRABLE


Apply Now