10 Jul, 2024

PA required to support a 14 year old boy in Bramley/Armley area 6 hrs per week

  • Leeds DP and PA Support hub
  • Remote (Bramley/Armley area of Leeds)
Part time & Casual Charity, Not for Profit and Social Enterprise

Job Description/Duties

Job title: Personal assistant (PA)

Reporting to: Emma

Location: Bramley/ Armley,  Leeds

Hours of work: 6 hours per week during weekends. To be mutually agreed.

Rate of pay: £12.40 per hour

 

Job purpose:

 

To assist with a variety of tasks which will enable a young disabled person who needs care and support to live their personal and social life according to their wishes and interests.

 

 

About the employer:

 

·       You would be supporting my son,  Will, aged 14.

·       He is extremely independent, and likes to do things for himself as much as possible but this can be limited due to his health conditions.

·       He has Hereditary Spastic Paraparesis, which affects his mobility and can cause pain and fatigue. He is a wheelchair user and has some difficulty moving around the house/ accessing areas outside of the home.

·       He also has a minor hearing impairment for which he uses hearing aids

·       He can be quite shy, and speaks quietly, but his speech is no longer affected by his hearing impairment. He can be very talkative however, when you engage in a topic he is interested in, and he has a lovely dry sense of humour.

·       He is really interested in history, politics and gaming. He enjoys listening to indie alternative and rock music.  He loves reading about history and science fiction and researching all kinds of things on the internet.

 

Main duties:

 

We are looking for someone to help Will build his confidence self esteem and improve his physical fitness through some physical and social activities so he can begin to have some fun.

 

Social duties:

 

·       Accessing the community and keeping active (will needs support doing some physical activity per week as part of his health plan)

·       This might include accessing the gym, or the swimming pool, or using his manual wheelchair for outings

·       Possibly may need support attending hydrotherapy sessions

·       At home Will would like some experience of learning to cook healthy snacks for himself (we have recently had our dining room adapted for this).

·       General support around trips or day outings to events

·       In the future Will may wish to attend social events or meet friends with a PA support

 

 

Social communication and mental health a support

 

·       Will takes time to build trust with people and lacks confidence

·       He has had low self-esteem relating to his body image

·       He may need support around building relationships and confidence

 

 

Personal care:

 

Will does not need direct support with personal care as he likes to do this himself. However, he may need some support – especially if swimming: accessing changing cubicles, being handed his clothes, accessing the toilet etc.

 

·       Some support needed in encouraging him to do his physio exercises

 

Medication:

 

·       Will manages his own pain levels but may need proscribed pain killers. He manages the dosage himself but a PA will need to provide the medication and monitor how much he is taking

·       Will has a high pain tolerance, and often needs reminding that he can take medication if he needs it, so a PA will need to check with him what level his pain is.

 

 

Values:

 

-       Understanding of equalities issues and the barriers faced by disabled people

-       Awareness of safeguarding young people

-       Willingness to be flexible and adaptable

-       Understanding of confidentiality

-       Respectful and values the individual and their rights

-       Able to work alone.

-       A sense of humour

 

What you can expect to receive:

 

-       Access to a range of training through Leeds PA support hub

-       Supervision support

-       Induction support

 

Skills, qualifications and experience

 

Essential:

 

·       Enhanced DBS check and references

·       Understanding of disabilities and challenges of disabled people in overcoming disabling barriers

·       Good awareness of equalities issues

·       Awareness of safeguarding

·       Able to be patient and calm when needed

·       Able to swim

·       Good at building relationships

·       Good communicator

·       Clear understanding of confidentiality

·       Computer literate

 

Preferred:

 

·       An interest in disability sport

·       Experience of supporting with physiotherapy exercises

·       Driving licence

·       Car and appropriate insurance

·       Willingness to be a named driver on the wheelchair accessible vehicle (motability will cover insurance for this and can provide training)

·       Likes cats

·       Experience of working with young people

·       Knowledge or experience of working with people with neurological impairments such as cerebral palsy or HSP

 

Please contact emjhewitt6@gmail.com

CLOSING DATE 25TH JULY 2024

 

 


Apply Now